Well . . nothing but food and basic toiletries. And used items are OK, as they don’t directly contribute to new production.

What a fantastic challenge to set yourself – and a good preparation for a post-peak-oil world. I’m not sure I’d be up for it at this stage, but that’s the challenge that  Amber has set herself in Canada, and is documenting in her blog Unstuffed. This is one of the most impressive efforts I have seen to really make a day-to-day difference. Not only is she not making new purchases, she is doing a tremendous job of buying local produce, minimising waste and – just as importantly – letting everyone know that this is possible.

It’s a really inspirational example, and one that I’d love to follow – just as soon as we’ve got through the next twelve months of re-equipping our lives after our move 🙂

I really loved this recent post of hers – what a fantastic day, and a great way to slip in a new purchase. Well done Amber – I’ll watch the rest of your year with interest.

